Back from India!


Its been a while, I’m finally back from a fun and exhilarating trip from India, Southeast Asia, and Australia. Despite being jobless, I came back with a host of unpacking, reorganizing, and other sundries.  Now that things are settling down, I’m looking to get back into my art practice.

I was thinking, what better way to get back than post a few works I did during my trip? While I was in Udaipur, India I had the fantastic opportunity to take miniature painting from some very talented artists. The works are very small (no more 4 inches on either side), made in a gouache/watercolor, and were originally intended for use in illuminated manuscripts. The technique was  Persian in origin and brought to India during the time of the Mughal Emperors.  From that time to today cities in Rajasthan like Udaipur have cultivated this time-honored craft.

Enough with the talk. Enjoy the works!

About a.s.c

Palestinian-American Artist, urban planning & architecture student living and practicing in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back from India!

  1. anoka says:

    These are delightful. Wish the images were larger.

  2. judy chamy says:

    I have seen the orginals and I think the pictures are very good and show the details well.

  3. Jennifer May says:

    You did an excellent job capturing the Indian style while still making the pieces distinctively “Adam’s work”.

  4. I am still blown away by these! Take pics of your apartment, adorned in all your new treasures please!

  5. Marge says:

    I adore the peacock. Beautiful, wonderful.

Leave a Reply

