Shrine Project, Revisited

Years back,  I began working on pieces that I refered to as shrines. My goal was to create highly spiritual works that draw from those intimate home chapels or sacred spaces found across the world from india to latin america… My first piece drew from the almost kitchy religious icons of hispanic-Americans.  The process was a wholescale multimedia project using everything from traditional paint media to photoshop to found art. The end result was an abstract and  highly emotive work of the iconic Virgin Mary of Catholic tradition and the dying Jesus on the cross.

My second “shrine” was a smaller work utilizing a broken MP3 player and other found art to convey a feeling of how in modern society ipods and cds have become as ubiquitous as prayer beads and religious works.

I will hopefully dig some photographs of the piece and post it soon.  

Lately, I’ve wanted to revisit this theme of spirituality and “Shrine creation”. I figured I would take photographs of the entire process from beginning to end. Here are the first few beginnings of what will hopefully be a wonderful completed work.

Process 2, Shrine Project

Process 2, Shrine Project

Process, Shrine Project 1

Process 1, Shrine Project

About a.s.c

Palestinian-American Artist, urban planning & architecture student living and practicing in Washington, DC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shrine Project, Revisited

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Love. I remember your shrine pieces vividly. Imagining them reminds me of tarot card readings on your bedroom floor. I am excited about this project.

Leave a Reply

